

Team of the Century Gala Ball



The Clontarf Team of the Century Gala Ball will take place in the Great Hall in Clontarf Castle on Friday 14th May 2010 from 7pm. The evening will commence with a drinks reception followed by a four course meal with music from Karen Black and the Sugarcubes. There will be an auction and raffle on the night before the award ceremony for the members of the Clontarf Team of the Century. Members are being asked to vote for their Team of the Century from the following list.

1936/37 Senior Team, Leinster Senior Cup winners

Captain George Morgan

The 1936 Senior team won the Leinster Senior Cup for the first time since Clontarf was formed in 1876

TR McGowan, JJ Murphy, PH Mooney, W Clarke, JJ Guiney, JE Lawless, LA Moran, MJ O'Dwyer, PJ Quinn, GE Enright, GJ Morgan (Capt), FG Moran, JA Tyson, JF Moran, MB Williams

1966/67 Senior Cup team,

Captain Jim Mc Ilvenna

This team became the first Irish team to defeat a New Zealand team, even before Munster beat the All Blacks. And the team in question? Wellington Athletic which was captained by the famous All Black lock Nev MacEwan.

N Ennis, B McManus, F O'Sullivan, F Thompson, J Fortune, D Lane, O Byrne, M Murray, C Smyth, K Keyes, T Coghlan, J Dinan, J Mc Ilvenna (Capt), N Murphy, S McMonagle

1969/70 3rd C O'Connor Cup winners,

Captain D McCabe,

Coach Dom O'Kelly

This team was patched together a week before the first round of the cup. They reached the final after some hotly contested matches and after a 3rd attempt at a final replay against Terenure, they won the O'Connor Cup.

D Horgan, F Farrell, D Curtin, J Reynolds, M Fitzpatrick, D Henderson, R Coghlan, M Ryan, D Dolan, D McCabe (Capt), D Blennerhassett, D Flynn, P Derivan, M Murray, T O'Sullivan, M Joyce, K Delaney

1972/73 Seconds (J1) Metropolitan Cup and Junior League winners

Captain, Finbarr Crowley,

Coach Dom O'Kelly

This unbeaten team went on to win the Metropolitan Cup and Junior League. This was the first time in Clontarf's history. An injury to Captain Finbarr Crowley saw Paul McLaughlin take over as captain. 29 years later the J1 team again completed this double and as it happened Paul McLaughlin was manager that time round.

M Sinnott, V O'Brien, F Thompson, D Lane, G Curran, P McIlhenny, P Hanahoe, C Fox, P Crowley, R McDonnell, E Devery, J Dinan, D Geraghty, P McLaughlin, T Malone

1978/1979 McCorry Cup winners

Captain, Liam Booth,

Coach Dom O'Kelly

In 1978 the McCorry Cup was arguably the most prestigious Cup in Leinster after the Senior Cup. It produced a squad of very talented young players many of whom went on to represent the club at Senior level.

L Dexter, B Lynch, B Sheridan, M Mathews, G. Hynes, J Gould, S Byrne, R Foley, T. Browne, B Callan, E Tucker, D Rothwell, D Sherry, B Fanning, N Gaffney, L Booth, K Bennett, P McHale, C O'Leary, C Nolan, F Murphy

1984/1985 Seconds (J1) winners

Captain Moggie Owens,

Coach Mick Murray

Manager Norman McCully

The J1's title win was only the second trophy win for Clontarf since 1973, (McCorry Cup 1978) and it really lifted the spirits of the entire club. Many of this team went on to represent the club at first team level. They beat Wanderers in the final 6 nil.

R Brophy, T O'Hanlon, P McHale, K Bennett, K Garvey, M Owens, K Lawless, T Merrey, A Byrne, R McDermott, J Barden, E McGrath, T Browne, R Foley, M Matthews, B Fanning, B O'Hare

1989/1990 Senior Team, winners Leinster Floodlit Cup, All Ireland Floodlit Cup, Leinster Senior League (Section B)

Captain Robbie Foley Coach Brendan Fanning Manager Robin Brophy President Paddy Maguire Apart from their three trophies the team also picked up the "All Ireland Team of the Month" award along with their manager Robin Brophy collecting the very prestigious "Phillips Manager of the Month" award, beating off stiff competition from Jack Charlton, Brian Kerr and Sean Boylan

R Mathews, D O'Brien, R Burke, L Meehan, M Fitzsimons, K Lawless, G Carr, D Brennan, J Stanley, R. Foley, J Meates, T Browne, J Goode, D Hyland, D Rothwell, C O'Mahony, M Smith, T Merrey, G Curran, G Brown

1992/1993 Under 14 Metropolitan League winners

Captain Paddy Ball Coach Hugh Fanning Manager Pat Kenny President Finbarr Crowley
This was Clontarf's first venture into youth rugby. The achievement represented years of hard work at mini level
and paved the way for many future success stories at under age level. This same team went on to win the
Under 16 league title two years later.

D Rossi, R Markey, B Connolly, S Moore, S Harnett, P Ryan, P Kenny, E Harvey, N Fanning, C McDonald, J Logan, P Ball, B O'Neill, I Purser, Keith McCarthy -Smyth

1995/1996 Under 20s Winners JP Fanagan League

Captain Mark O'Brien

Coach Dave Moore

Manager John Teeling

R Stafford, J Maher, P Mullaney, R O'Reilly, W Ball, P Hehir, C Power, S. Lamb, J Fahy, B Maguire, P Tierney, L McGrath, P Lee, M Gillenan, A Skehan, D Maybury, P Campion, M O'Brien, I Synnott, A Dunne, M Woods

1996/1997 Senior Team, winners of promotion to Division 1 of the AIL

Captain Matt Smith Coach Brent Pope Manager Paul McLaughlin President Barry Teeling
This is where it all started, a win against Bective Rangers the week previous set up a home tie against
Greystones in the blistering sunshine. Clontarf won their last league match and with it the elusive Division 2 title.

M Woods, T Lawless, M Smith, N Barry, G Ahern, M Fitzsimons, R O'Reilly, D Moore, P Ward, S Guerin, S Lusk, C Power, P McQuillian, B Jackman, I Cummins

1998/1999 Leinster Senior Cup winners

Captain Bernard Jackman Coach Brent Pope Manager Gerry Carr/ Terry Browne President Dave Kennedy Like Ireland's recent grand slam win, Clontarf too had to wait 63 years for this title.

D McElliigott, A McClean, M Smith, C Bewley, O Winchester, R Murphy, R O'Reilly, H Hurley, B Jackman, T Kearns, D Moore, J Ball, D O'Brien, P Ward, C Brownlie, A Kelly, M Woods, P McQuillan, S Guerin, W Ball

2001/2002 Seconds (J1) Metropolitan Cup and Junior League winners

Captain Kevin Nowlan Coach Pat Ward Manager Paul McLaughlin President Robin Brophy This team repeated the feats of the 1972/73 J1 team with a League and Cup double. This was a remarkable feat for any team in an extremely competitive era.

K Nowlan, T Kiernan, D McElligott, D O'Shea, E Burns, M Woods, R O'Reilly, A Cullen, P Lynn, D Lambert, A Wood, C Murphy, D O'Donohoe, S Lamb, D Gary, W Ball, T Foucher

2005/2006 Fourths (J3's) Moran Cup winners, Leinster Blitz, League finalists

Captain Jack Teeling Coach Tony Lawless Manager Dave Buggy President Colm Menton
This junior team went unbeaten for 35 out of 36 matches for the year only losing out to Greystones in the last match of the season, the league final in Greystones. A first Leinster Blitz was followed up with a historic Moran Cup victory.

S Teeling S Glover, J Teeling, K O'Mahony, S Harnett, R Creedon, D Thunder, P Fitzgibbon, G Bird, D Walshe/P Dwane, G Dooley, P Mullany, D Bianchi, J Hunter, J Simpson, D. Hyland

Your name:		
Team Selection: _		
Sign _	Date:	