CLONTARF 10 TERENURE COLLEGE 16, Castle Avenue, Friday 18th October 2019
Scorers: Clontarf: Try: Tadgh McElroy; Con: Sean Kearns; Pen: Sean Kearns
Terenure college: Try: Stephen O’Neill; Con: James Thornton; Pens: James Thornton 3
HT: Clontarf 0 Terenure College 10

Terenure set the tone for this Friday night fixture as they entered the field for the beginning of the game, pausing at the half way line to get one final blast of tackle practice in before the referee took up position for the whistle to signal kick-off.

The first-half of the match, which took place in torrential rain was dominated by a Terenure side who , as is their tradition both on and off the park , brought a level of enthusiasm and frenzy to proceedings both in attack and defence.

It would be ungracious on the visitors to blame the weather for Clontarf difficulties on the night given the intensity that Terenure brought to their defensive organisation.

Suffice to say that under the onslaught , Clontarf were harried into multiple errors with the ball. That allowed Terenure to build momentum and gain field position, which they then accentuated by skill and pace in possession which then yielded a converted try through Stephen O’Neill and two penalties to send them in at the break with a 13-0. Clontarf did manage one clear breakout by scrum-half Angus Lloyd, but he was scragged two yards from the visitors line and a penalty was awarded to Terenure at the resulting ruck.

In the second half Clontarf roused themselves and as the weather closed in, they forced a score from Tadgh McElroy from a line out maul and as time ticked down a penalty from Sean Kearns ensured a grandstand finish.

It was not to be for the home side, as Terenure defended their lead with do-or-die tackling, and dropped bombs onto the Clontarf back three when they had possession.

So 16-10 to the visitors and no complaints, next up is a visit down south to high flying UCC on the 2nd November.

CLONTARF: Jack Power; Seni Reilly Ashiru, Fiachra Smith, Matt D’Arcy, Cian O’Donoghue; Gearoid Lyons, Angus Lloyd; Ivan Soroka, Dylan Donnellan, JP Phelan, Cormac Daly, Ben Reilly, Tom Ryan, Cian Walsh, Michael Noone (capt).

Replacements: Tadgh McElroy, Charlie Ward, Ruadhan Byron, Andrew Feeney, Sean Kearns.

TERENURE COLLEGE: Jake Swaine; Matthew Byrne, Robbie Deegan, Stephen O’Neill, Sam Coghlan Murray; James Thornton, Jamie Glynn; Dewald Barnard, Robbie Smyth, Liam Hyland, Stephen Caffrey, Michael Melia, Niall O’Sullivan, Paddy Thornton (capt), Eoin Joyce.

Replacements: Adam Clarkin, Tiernan Creagh, Niall Lalor, Mark O’Neill, Sam Dardis.